A movie, well, let me count the ways.

If you could be a character from a book or film, who would you be? Why?

It is a Meryl Streep character, before she went crazy of course. She plays a heroic soul. I was pre-teens when it came out. Any Gen X mind is clicking, right now. Sorry for that. Anyway, her role is this is just being a good soul. In a place called judgment city. Akin to our present-day legal system.  Everything is geared that way in the film. Defending your life. There is one line that sticks with me. It was a sister to the question of her actual death. As she covered her face, she stated it was embarrassing.  She tripped on a lawn chair and drowned. She proceeds to say, …”I’m also angry about it, I was a damn good swimmer.” Being as clutzy as I am. I totally related to that, and even more now, I have officially hit my 50s.  That is the one. I just want to arrive and not be ashamed.  I spent so much of my life lost and angry. I try every situation even ones that stress every alighted Chakra in my life to wink out, to walk away and treat myself with love so I can go back to the those same places once the storm passes.

I strive to be a good soul. To help when I can even it is helping someone or something leave. I know my side of the street better than most. I have made it a life mission. My messy days aren’t ever as messy as the past me, even if only a week old, handles it better than I did last time. My competition is me. I am behind others still cheering them on as they lap for the fourth time. I have no dillusions that we don’t all carry. I have learned that my little luch box may be smaller then others but I know bad shit happens and good shit happens too. So that’s my movie 🎬.  My heart will go forth light a feather. As I strive to be a good soul to me so I can more freely offer a hand to those behind.

Published by Christina Allen

just the love of words

Leave a comment